History of the Faculty

    A Brief History of the Faculty of Education

    The history of the faculty had its beginning in the Centre for Preparatory Studies, which offered the Bachelor of Education in TESL, a joint programme with Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM). In December 1996, UITM was granted the authority by the Ministry of Education to run its own TESL degree programme, thus paving to the establishment in August 1997 with approval from the UITM board of Directors.

    In 1997, the faculty conducted a special degree programme known as the Program Pensiswazahan Guru-guru lepasan Kursus Diploma Perguruan Khas (KDPK) in TESL, Art Education, Physical and Health Education, Music Education and School Resource Centre Management. In November 2001 the faculty began offering the Master of Education TESL by coursework and the Master of Education and PhD Programmes by research.

    The Faculty is also involved in a joint programme with the Ministry of Education which commenced in 2002 offering special degree programmes knows as the Program Khas Pensiswazahan Guru (PKPG) to non-graduate teachers. The PKPG programme is aimed at producing graduate teachers in the following areas: TESL, Art Education, multimedia Interactive, Physical and Health Education, Mathematics and science Education.

    In November 2005 the faculty embarked on yet another joint programme with the Ministry of Education by offering the Bachelor in education (Honours) majoring in Educational Management. The special joint programme is also fondly known as Program Khas Pensiswazahan Guru Besar or in short, PKPGB. The Programme is offered at UITM Shah Alam and UITM Sarawak campuses.

    Today the Faculty consists of 92 teaching experts with 6 full-fledged Professors and 6 Visiting Professors. There are presently 1 Asasi TESL program, 4 Undergraduates programs, 4 Master by coursework programs, 1 Master by research program, and 1 PhD program. The newly formed Master by coursework programs include Master of Arts in Visual Art Education; Master of Arts in Leadership Management and the newest, Masters in Mathematics Education (2015). Consistent in producing dynamic graduates that transcends the employability barriers, the Faculty of Education has become a dynamic, versatile melting pot for future leaders and extraordinaires.


    List of Deans of Faculty of Education, UiTM

    Current and 7th Dean

    Associate Professor Dr. Nabilah Abdullah



    Current and 6th Dean,

    Professor Dr Faizah Abd Majid

    (2017 - 2018)


    5th Dean,

    Prof. Dr. Mohd Mustafa Mohd Ghazali

    (2012 - 2016)


    4th Dean, 

    Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hj Izaham Shah Ismail

    (2011 - 2012)



    3rd Dean,

    Prof. Dr. Normah Abdullah

    (2006 - 2010)



    2nd Dean, 

    Dr Zainab Md Noor  

    (2004 - 2006)



    Founder & 1st Dean,

    Prof. Dr. Hazadiah Md Dahan

    (1997 - 2004)

    Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
    Fakulti Pendidikan
    Aras 5 & 7, Bangunan FSK 1, 5
    Kampus Puncak Alam
    42300 Bandar Puncak Alam
    Selangor Darul Ehsan, MALAYSIAa

    General Inquiry:
    Email : edu.official@uitm.edu.my

    Website Inquiry:
    Webmaster : manmunjiaf@uitm.edu.my

    Tel: +603-3258 4920/4922/4990/4991
    Fax: +603-3258 4994